Hello

Today is the 16th February 2019, my 21st birthday. As of today, I am now able to drink, smoke and enter clubs legally in the U.S; I can also adopt a child. If I returned to the UK – and immediately found myself employed – I would be eligible for the 21 and over National Minimum Wage! Instead, my 21st marks an opportunity to begin this blog, something I have been toying with the idea of for a while now.

I offer my apologies in advance, as I cannot pre-empt the exact nature of what this blog may comprise, mainly because I am not creating it as a public showcase but more as a personal outlet. For those that know me, I study Chemistry at university – a subject that I have since discovered I absolutely, indisputably, irrefutably hate. Hence, I have decided to take a year out after my exchange in Australia but more on this later. Chemistry is not the most artistic of subjects and, in an attempt to destress after a long day in the lab, I have often found having some kind of creative outlet to be of help; this ranges from drawing and painting to listening to music and, increasingly, writing in my brown book, which is probably the closest thing I will ever have to a journal/diary. With the spine of said book growing ever weaker, it seems that I must impart my rants and imaginative endeavours elsewhere. I am not particularly talented at anything, nor am I always great at articulating myself, however, I think it is important to pursue creative projects even if you are not the crème de la crème of writing or drawing or singing or dancing or whatever it is you do. Plus, I think I have a lot to say.

I entered 2019 with my best friend at Lost Paradise festival, leaking salty water from my eye sockets; as fireworks went off all over New South Wales, I stood sobbing with happiness about how significant 2018 was for me personally, and how grateful I felt for everything that had happened, and in that moment I promised myself that 2019 would be my best year yet and that I would do everything in my power to experience it fully and to inhibit myself as little as possible. To look after myself and to be open with those around me and share my experiences were also a big factor within said promise, so I am going to try to post as much as possible about the things closest to my heart. My other New Year’s resolutions were to partake in Veganuary, and to stop the naughty habit I have of social smoking when I’m pissed. Both have been successful so far.

If anyone reads any part of this thing that I am birthing and has any feedback, I fully encourage you to get in contact, because I am very interested in hearing other opinions and perspectives, and starting conversations about the topics that fascinate me. So: my name is Jolie Hamilton-Warford, I am exactly 6 feet tall, and currently living and studying in Sydney, Australia, although I am originally from South London (near to Croydon); today is my 21st birthday. Welcome to chaos. 1e0a1b11ae10000

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: